Why should I play a sport, Dad?

Posted: August 2, 2021 in Sports As Teacher
Tags: , ,

It is Olympics season. Me and my 4 year old son, Baby R, were cheering PV Sindhu & then the Indian Men’s hockey team.

While we were watching the games, Baby R asked me why do I encourage him to play sports over studies?

Well, I do have a confession to make. I don’t know if he would want to pursue them as a career option or just play to stay fit, but I still want him to play sports.

So, why do I encourage Baby R to play sports?

– I want Baby R to experience moments when he gets tired but wants to carry on in order to complete the game

– I want Baby R to learn to be disciplined, focused and dedicated.

– I want Baby R to take care of his body and equipment.

– I want Baby R to learn teamwork

–  I want Baby R to be gracious in defeat and humble in success.

– I want Baby R to learn to deal with disappointment, when he doesn’t win, but still he go back day after day giving it his best shot.

– I want Baby R to learn that it takes hours and hours, years and years of hard work and practice to create a champion and that success does not happen overnight.

– I want Baby R to be out on the field or riding his cycle instead of sitting in front of a screen.

…I could go on but, to be short, I want Baby R to develop attributes that will serve him well throughout his life and give him the opportunity to bless the lives of others.

From what I have seen so far, I think Sports is a great teacher and helps build and strengthen character. I too wanted to be a sportsman but could not make it big but it helped me be a better human being. I continue to run and cycle to stay fit.

Let’s play the Sport in the right spirit and stay blessed forever.

Comments
  1. shabnamgulati says:

    ‘Baby R’ is lucky to start learning these qualities as a child. They need to be inculcated in every person, old or young. They are needed to keep moving ahead, as success and defeat go hand in hand. In short thy are the life support systems’

Leave a comment